A diesel winter

Yesterday, Nashville out of the blue had a storm come through that blessed us with I believe 9 inches of snow. Of course we took advantage of the day off of school and had some fun. Actually, let’s rewind to Friday morning.

I wake up at Sam’s (the guy holding the sled) at 5 am. No sign of snow yet. In a rush thinking school won’t be cancelled I drive home, do some reading, and hop in the shower. Then two texts come through. 1: MTSU will not be open today due to inclement weather. Rad! Always a good thing to see when you haven’t done work for that day. 2: Hey guys, Ragan needs help at the DoubleTree. Anyone help? I had to work at 3 anyways so I figured sure I’ll help them. I open the door and there’s snow everywhere. In an hour there was about 3 inches of snow on the ground. It was ridiculous. I hop in the car at 7:45. What’s usually a 25 minute drive was anything but. It was 1 o’clock when I got off of I-40. I can truthfully say that sitting in dead still traffic is the utmost annoying experience you can go through. I still went to work (after Ragan convinced me) for about 4 hours then headed over to Sam’s. About 5 o’clock it was already dark and we decided to go to my house. Played some zombies, hung out with the fam, then what’s the past participle of sled?

We geared up and headed out barely making it from the driveway. The roads were just great you could imagine. Slid off the road a few times. Cop rolled up once which was absolutely terrifying given the circumstances. Tried a few hills and roads that ended up not being what we thought. So we improvised. Truck, rope, sled. A pair of sunglasses and a whistle is all you need for this game. We tore up the neighborhood then found a hill where I would eventually lose my phone until this morning. All in all, “Snowpocalypse” was a success.

T. H. Vogel.

Leave a comment